Winter | Marissa Meyer

fullsizerender

DETAILS :

Title : Winter

Author : Marissa Meyer

Genres : Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Romance

Publish Date : 10 November 2015

Publisher : Puffin, Paperback, 824 pages

Series : The Lunar Chronicles #4

Rating : 5/5 stars

Goodreads goals : 72/100 books

Synopsis :

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.


 

Oh, stars! How do I start? I finished this book at 3am. This was amazing! It was exactly what I wanted for a series finale. I loved the world, the story, the characters.. EVERYTHING. This is definitely one of my favourite series of all time, no doubt. I got a little teary after I finished reading the last page though.

“And they all lived happily to the end of their days.”

To be honest, Winter wasn’t perfect. My expectations were high but I do feel Marissa Meyer left us with a very satisfying ending. But as a 824 pages book, it didn’t drag at all. Admittedly, it slowed near the middle but nowhere near enough to make me want to dnf this book. Without being too spoilers, there are characters getting stabbed, characters getting thrown off balconies, characters getting genetic modifications, characters getting manipulated, characters losing limbs and fingers, characters getting the plague, characters going insane and characters being forced to physically hurt their loved ones. Did I make you wanna read the series immediately? Hah, you’re welcome. *kisses*

Winter is named after the character, but it isn’t so much her story. It was Cinder’s story and about Cinder also known as Princess Selene taking her rightful throne as Queen of Luna. Winter is a complex character. You don’t see it at first because she’s sweet and kind and a little mad from Lunar sickness.

I’m amazed. Marissa Meyer can juggle so many point of views, each with their own distinctive voice. I never confused Cress for Winter, or Kai for Wolf. That’s how good she is. Let’s talk about the main characters, shall we? Scarlet & Wolf, forever my OTP. I think they’ve had the roughest journey of all and their love also seems the strongest. Oh stars, my heart fluttered every time Wolf called Scarlet his Alpha. Are you sure this is a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood instead of Beauty & The Beast ? *smirks*  But Cinder & Thorne’s friendship is so goals. I loved everything that comes out of Thorne’s mouth and everything he does. But this book also broke my heart when they have to face their faith and are separated again and again. But yeah they all lived happily ever after.

The majority of this book was action-packed but there was also plenty of romance and some serious swoon worthy moments. The ending was perfect. It is by far the best retellings I’ve ever read. I can’t wait to read Stars Above next to see who gets married.


QUOTES :

  1. “Yeah, but broken isn’t the same as unfixable.”
  2. “She was prettier than a bouquet of roses and crazier than a headless chicken. Fitting in was not an option.”
  3. “One should never save cake for later when it can be eaten now.”
  4. “I’m going to make it a law that the correct way to address your sovereign is my giving a high five.’ Kai’s smiled brightened. ‘That’s genius. Me too.”

MY FAVOURITE QUOTES FROM CAPTAIN THORNE CARSWELL IN THE WHOLE SERIES :

  1. “Captain?”
    “Yeah?”
    “Do you think it was destiny that brought us together?”
    He squinted and, after a thoughtful moment, shook his head. “No. I’m pretty sure it was Cinder.”
  2. “I promise, I will not let you die without being kissed.”
  3. “A kiss from the Captain would probably melt my central processor.”
    Thorne winked at her. “Oh trust me. It would.”
  4. “Thorne scoffed. “Careful is my middle name. Right after Suave and Daring.”
    “Do you even know what you’re saying half the time?” asked Cinder.”
  5. “I passed out from stress? That’s it?”
    “I believe the princess term is fainted,” said Thorne.”

 

 

 

Leave a comment